## STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

## In the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand Eighteen

A RESOLUTION rescinding all requests by the New Hampshire legislature for a federal constitutional convention.

Whereas, the New Hampshire legislature, acting with the best of intentions, has, at various times and during various sessions, including HCR 40 in 2016, previously made applications to the United States Congress to call one or more conventions to propose amendments concerning specific subjects to the United States Constitution, pursuant to Article V thereof; and

Whereas, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Warren E. Burger, former Associate Justice of the Supreme Court Arthur Goldberg, and other leading constitutional scholars, agreed that such a convention may propose sweeping changes to the Constitution, any limitations or restrictions purportedly imposed by the states in requesting the convention notwithstanding, thereby creating imminent peril to the well-established rights of citizens and the duties of various levels of government; and

Whereas, the United States Constitution has been amended many times in the history of this nation and may be amended many more times without the need to resort to a constitutional convention, and has been interpreted for more than 200 years and has been found to be a sound document which protects the lives and liberties of the citizens; and

Whereas, there is no need for, rather, there is great danger in, a new constitution or in opening the United States Constitution to sweeping changes, the adoption of which could create legal chaos in this nation and only begin the process of another 2 centuries of litigation over its meaning and interpretation; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

That any and all requests and applications by the New Hampshire legislature for a federal constitutional convention are hereby rescinded and deemed null and void; and

That copies of this resolution be forwarded by the house clerk to the President of the United States, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, the President of the United States Senate, each member of the New Hampshire congressional delegation, and the Administrator of the United States General Services Administration.